9½ Stunden
Eine Liebe auf Jamaika.

9 Hours.
A Love in Jamaica.


The story of a unique love, interwoven with the unique history of the Jamaican Maroons: The evening before she leaves Jamaica, a young European woman meets a mysterious man. In the hours between sunset and sunrise, he tells her about his life. The short time she spends with him reveals to her the magic of love in its inescapability, and changes her life. The historical facts about the Jamaican Maroons are unique. No ethnic group before or after them has ever succeeded in opposing a power that so vastly outnumbered them, as did the Maroons without weapons or sufficient provisions. Their struggle against the English colonial rulers dragged on for centuries; their state within the state in Jamaica exists to this day.

From the introduction by Werner Zips, professor of anthropology at the University of Vienna: “Anyone who has been to Jamaica — and by that I mean: has been deep inside the country — knows of the island's magic. Beautifully tropical, yet geopolitically insignificant, this small Caribbean island mirrors the world and its modern history. Therefore, every seeking stranger will also gain new insights about himself. This is the experience which Valerie Schramm's story of a love conveys … The military successes of the Maroons against the British are oftentimes glorified and their African religious traditions mystified. These accounts frequently lack the fact that the Maroons have actually created an alternative model of society … One of the strengths of this extraordinary romantic novel is that Valerie Schramm, rather than letting her protagonist tell the dramatic martial story of the struggle for freedom, chooses to relate the social wisdom of the people … Valerie Schramm invites us to join a night's dance, ‘a dance as it can only be danced in Jamaica, as if there were no tomorrow.’”

This tantalizingly erotic and poetically portrayed love story, with its strong basis of diligent research, provides a wealth of information on the exceptional historical account of the Jamaican Maroons and their society.


Order from Amazon

ISBN: 978-3-902141-11-8

Price: EUR 15.50


Back to homepage

9½ Stunden
Eine Liebe auf Jamaika.


Die Geschichte einer einzigartigen Liebe. Verwoben mit der einzigartigen Geschichte des Volkes der jamaikanischen Maroons: Am Vorabend ihrer Abreise aus Jamaika trifft eine junge Europäerin einen geheimnisvollen Mann. In den Stunden zwischen Sonnenuntergang und Sonnenaufgang erzählt er ihr von seinem Leben. Die kurze Zeitspanne mit ihm offenbart ihr die Magie der Liebe in ihrer Unabdingbarkeit und verändert ihr Leben. Die historischen Fakten über die jamaikanischen Maroons sind beispiellos. Keiner Volksgruppe vor ihnen oder nach ihnen ist es annähernd erfolgreich gelungen, sich ohne Waffen und ohne ausreichende Verpflegung einer zahlenmäßig weit überlegenen Macht entgegenzustellen, wie dies die Maroons taten. Ihr Kampf gegen die englischen Kolonialherren zog sich über Jahrhunderte, bis heute existiert ihr Staat im Staat in Jamaika.

Dr. Werner Zips, Professor für Ethnologie an der Universität Wien, über das Buch: „Wer einmal in Jamaika war, und das meint mitten drinnen, weiß um die Magie der Insel. Das kleine, prachtvoll tropische, aber geopolitisch völlig unbedeutende Karibikeiland spiegelt die Welt und ihre neuzeitliche Geschichte. Aus diesem Grund ermöglicht sie dem suchenden Fremden auch einen Blick auf sich selbst. Von dieser Erfahrung berichtet Valerie Schramms Erzählung einer Liebe (…) Oftmals werden die militärischen Erfolge der Maroons gegen die Briten verklärt und ihre religiösen afrikanischen Traditionen mystifiziert. Dabei kommt regelmäßig zu kurz, wie sehr die Maroons tatsächlich ein alternatives Gesellschaftsmodell geschaffen haben (…) Es gehört zu den Stärken dieses außergewöhnlichen Liebesromans, dass Valerie Schramm durch ihren Protagonisten nicht von der dramatischen und martialischen Geschichte des Freiheitskampfes berichten lässt, sondern von der sozialen Weisheit dieser Menschen (…) Valerie Schramm lässt uns an dem Tanz einer Nacht teilhaben, einem Tanz, ‚wie man ihn nur in Jamaika tanzen kann, so als gäbe es kein Morgen‘.“

Eine erotisch-prickelnde Liebesgeschichte, voller Poesie geschildert, die dank sorgfältigster Recherche eine Fülle an Informationen über den außergewöhnlichen geschichtlichen Status der jamaikanischen Maroons und ihre Sozietät bietet.


Bestellung bei Amazon

ISBN: 978-3-902141-11-8

Preis: EUR 15,50


Zurück zur Startseite